Leupold BX-4 Rangefinding Binoculars

California beginnings

Coyotex86

Hello all!! This is my first time hunting. I just got my hunting license. I have wanted to hunt since I was a kid(now 33). My Grandfather and dad came home from Colorado with some crazy stories after a big hunt. A short while later it came to an “every other Wednesday” sort of deal. Now that I have a son(4 1/2) I have wanted to get out there and hunt so I can pass on the knowledge I pick up.

I have come to enjoy Fresh Tracks and OYOA’s very much. I have watched all I can. Picked out my rifle (tikka t3x lite SS LH 6.5 creedmoor, vortex viper pst gen 2). I put in for a draw for C zone. If I understand this right it’s 8,150 tag quota per c zone. There are four. Or it’s 8,150 tags total for all of C zone. I don’t know. I also bought a D3-5 tag 33,000 tag quota. I obviously don’t know what I’m doing.

My Father-in-law hunts on a share holder ranch. My C zone tag was a party tag for that reason. I would love to get out on my own in public land. I picked up the D 3-5 for that reason.
I am also very interested in going for coyotes,pigs and maybe even bear.

I came to this forum looking for community and knowledge so thank you for having me and I hope to get to know some of you and get lots of questions answered.

Welcome.
When you say you applied for a C zone tag I assume you did that before June 2nd so you should already have that tag. The D3-5 tag is another good choice and allows you to hunt a large area.