MTNTOUGH - Use promo code RANDY for 30 days free

CA hunters TIA

NickCNC

So my son decided last minute he actually wants to hunt this year (he's 16 and on the football team, so he thought time wise it wasn't gonna be in the cards for him). I respected his choice and he's regretting not deciding to hunt sooner, as the tags available were limited. We ended up with a D8 tag for him and I've never hunted the area and know minimal about it. Any insight would be appreciated as I've been escouting some spots but I have zero knowledge of the area. We plan to head up after this weeks game and spend a weekend in the woods while we look for a deer for him, and I can of course keep an eye out for any bears that happen to be around. Again, thanks in advance for any info you guys can share, I appreciate it.

I was just up there a month ago doing a cabin trip with the kid and G-Kids. I can tell you everything is burned bad above Camp Nelson to Ponderosa, and all of the way between Ponderosa to Trail of 100 giants. Its a moon scape from last year's fire, and saw very little new growth or browse for deer. I saw no game, except a cinnamon phase smallish black bear in Ponderosa.

I was just up there a month ago doing a cabin trip with the kid and G-Kids. I can tell you everything is burned bad above Camp Nelson to Ponderosa, and all of the way between Ponderosa to Trail of 100 giants. Its a moon scape from last year's fire, and saw very little new growth or browse for deer. I saw no game, except a cinnamon phase smallish black bear in Ponderosa.
Thank you sir!

Spots I'm looking into right now are north end of zone, from anywhere just south of river to national park zones.

Spots I'm looking into right now are north end of zone, from anywhere just south of river to national park zones.