Big Horns and Medicine Bow Trout Flies

wistowy

A friend and I are heading to Wyoming and Colorado in August for some backpacking. I am a novice fly fisherman...have only used 2 different patterns(Adams and mosquito) in the 30+ years of trout fishing in Wisconsin. If you were to recommend 2 or 3 flies to carry would those be included? Is there something better. As I said I am a novice so "match the hatch" is foreign to me.

I LOVE a good black ant pattern for backcountry fly fishing. Terrestrial patterns in general should do well; ants, beetles, grasshopper patterns - lots of options. The stimulator is about as western fly fishing as they come.

Caddis and BWO are my favorites out in the Beartooths. I'm sure they'll work for you guys too.

A friend and I are heading to Wyoming and Colorado in August for some backpacking. I am a novice fly fisherman...have only used 2 different patterns(Adams and mosquito) in the 30+ years of trout fishing in Wisconsin. If you were to recommend 2 or 3 flies to carry would those be included? Is there something better. As I said I am a novice so "match the hatch" is foreign to me.
Stimulators and elk hair caddis will do the trick. Also, some foam hoppers are solid as well.

Those'll do. For backpacking I only bring a few flies so they are pretty general in nature. Adams, chubby chernobyl, ant patterns, etc in a couple different sizes. I also throw a small streamer in the box just in case. Don't really use it though. Foam terrestrials should be a good bet that time of year.

In my experience, I would definitely take an array of wet flies for the Snowy Range. I've fished a lot of lakes up there, and while the standard Elk Hair Caddis is a good standby, I often had my best days with a simple wet fly pattern such as a peacock hurl body and a partridge hackle. Also, some Muddler Minnows to fish along rock slides is a good idea.