Big Fin

Bigbuckkiller

Last night i was watching a bear hunt of yours. You had shot a bear and you followed it and never found it. Many people i know would have just moved on and went and shot another bear but you didnt. This impressed me very much and i admire you for it. I am a very young hunter but i still know how bad of a feeling that had to be. I just thought i would let you know how much i look up to you and that i admire you alot.

Collin,
From Colorado.

If you learn from Big Fin, you are learning the right way. Even though I have never met him I too have watched his show and was impressed. And I have been hunting for over 30 years.

John

BBK - Thank you for those kind comments. It was a terrible feeling. Like I posted on the Live Hunt thread, the bear deserved better. Months of practice, rehearsing the shot for ten minutes prior as I waited for him to stand, knowing my rifle and load intimately, and still there was that terrible outcome.

I hope we did a good job of capturing that feeling some may have unfortunately experienced. You are correct that some would just move on and find another one. To me, I have always punched my tag in an instance like that. I view my tag as the chance to hit an animal, putting responsibility on me to take him home if I do hit him, rather than a chance to hit as many as needed before making a good enough shot to take one home.

I will admit to being worried that some would hammer me for showing the side of hunting we don't like to see or talk about. So far, it is has been 100% positive, for which I am thankful.

Thanks to all of you who support us to such a great level. It gives us confidence that there are plenty of hunters out there who want to see a different message.

Is it illegal for a nonresident in AK to continue hunting black bears if you wound one? I think that is what got Ted. I admire you Randy for not breaking the lawl on national TV.