Sitka Gear Turkey Tool Belt

Avoiding the High and Dry

Young Buck

Headed to hunt black bear on Kupreanof Island in May. Will be staying at Calder Mtn Lodge. I will be hunting them by boat and by foot. This is my first time hunting tidal waters and my greatest concerns on this hunt are understanding how to anchor the boat and making sure it STAYS PUT when going ashore and being able to retrieve it when needed with the large tide swings in the area. Anyone have experience with this or can anyone point me to a resource in print or online to prepare myself?

My other concern is losing a lower unit on rocks. I do understand how to read a nautical chart and will obviously be going slow and especially slow in tidal areas. I will have navionics on my phone and will have a Lowrance GPS/depth finder in the boat. Any advice in this area would be much appreciated also!

Happy hunting!

Well a lot depends on your boat..or at least how heavy it is.

I generally run a separate line to base of a Danforth anchor and take it to shore. Then I play out the amount of anchor line I think I will need to have the boat anchored off correctly and cleat that of too the front of the boat. Lay the anchor on the rail and walk out as deep as I can (waders help) and push the boat off. When it gets off shore, I give the shore line a jerk and if all works well, the anchor falls off the rail and the boat is anchored off deep and still floating when the tide goes out. The shore line should pull against the direction the anchor sets when you pull the boat in. In practice it can be a messy process and sometimes won’t work if you have a strong onshore wind or just too much tide swing.

Rollers are your friend in a lund or smaller aluminum boat. I keep PVC rollers in my boat but even logs will help a lot if you must push.,