Caribou Gear

Athlon Scopes

rjthehunter

Let's hear some opinions on Athlon optics. Specifically the Ares 2.5-15. I found a sporting goods store that should have them in stock. Just have to get down there and check them out. Want to know if anyone has any experience with Athlon scopes in general. Seem to have a warranty similar to vortex which is a huge plus.

I have the Athlon Argos HMR 2-12x42mm BDC600A. I've been very happy with the clarity and overall scope. My budget is on the lower end so I don't have a lot to compare it too, but it's the clearest glass I've got.

So I have an Athlon Ares 15-45x65 spotter and it's overall, ok. I put it next to a buddies vortex spotter that cost probably 50% more and I couldn't tell a difference. I might replace it one day, but the glass isn't terrible for what I paid for it. And my eyes suck, but I've had friends spot deer from miles away with it.

As for rifle scopes and turrets, I have no experience and am interested to hear other opinions.

The reviews I've heard on Athlon in general have almost all been positive. There is the typical negative review that says something along the lines of "My sworo glass is better" well no shit. It also cost 3x as much. I was told it's comparable to Vortex at a better price. I want to upgrade scopes. I have a 5-20x50 Viper on my main hunting rifle right now, and while I haven't had any issues with it yet, it has non locking turrets, and starting at 5x zoom is less than ideal.

I bought the Athlon 65mm spotter this fall (from a well-known HTer) and so far, so good. Besides looking at the backyard and local mountain deer, I took it on a MT deer hunt earlier thjis month. Clarity was great, nice and light weight, and allowed me to see lots of details well into the approaching darkness. The real test will be when I draw my sheep tag(s) this fall ;).