Any last gasp deer hunters out there?

In Alabama our season goes into early February. I was in the woods yesterday with a crossbow. This coming weekend it will be the 6.5 CM in my hands.

I've got two more weeks and I will probably get out two more times. I have a buck and 2 doe tags left as well as 2 turkey tags for archery. I am looking forward to getting out. Sure would like to put an arrow through another buck or a turkey.

I went out last night with the bow and sat in the wrong stand.
4 does walked right by my other stand 300yards down the field.
That is probably where ill be tomorrow evening

2020 was my first fully solo hunting season, without the benefit of a state program (like BOW) to help put me on the deer on public land. Plus, I am new to having to provide my own gear, so I'm ground hunting (no blind). I got a fantastic shot at a spike during Muzzleloader season that came right towards me, but I got overexcited and completely whiffed it. I was out for the final day yesterday, and all I got was a sassy AT hiker who wasn't thrilled to see me while I was walking in, and I watched a deer cross the road in front of me as I was driving out to go home.

At least I can say I have some good ideas for this WMA for next year, and I have gained a lot of confidence to go out and off-trail alone. I am sure that all of the squirrels I've been seeing while I was deer hunting will evaporate the second I get out there with the .22 and all of the deer will suddenly be everywhere.

Bart.jpg

The narrow, tall buck had his life saved by an old doe, last night. Had him at 21 yards, just getting ready to draw when she came and ran him off. Oh well, he will just be bigger next year Screenshot_20210103-194631_SPYPOINT.jpg

Filled last late season Iowa tag tonight. Took the 5year old (who is our 4th kid) on his first big game outting. Had a late season Iowa antlerless muzz tag. Which allows us to use a muzzleloader, handgun or crossbow.