Caribou Gear

Any GM mechanics here?

Muskeez

I have a sticky situation that I'd like to bounce off a good GM mechanic in a PM. Short version is I took my work mini-van to a dealer for a simple repair, ($282) when I got it back I had a light on the dash and an error code. Now, they say that is pure coincidence and they want $1300 for parts and 3 hours labor... I'm not happy. Would like to run my original repair and they estimate by someone more knowledgeable to see if they could have, in any way, caused this issue while doing that repair. Kind of a You touched it last type deal. Bad thing is this GM dealer is a good customer of mine. However it will take a LONG time to recoup a $1600 loss. This same dealer tried to blow smoke up my tailpipe last winter to get me to do a complete cooling system flush on a 2 year old truck. ugh!

That sucks... I'd take it to someone else and pay the diagnoses fee. It would be worth it. I'm no mechanic, but seems logical that one thing could have led to another. I once took a Nissan to the Firestone shop for an allignment. They wanted $500 bucks to rebuild some of the front end. I took it to the Nissan dealer and they said it was fine. Nothing wrong with it. I explained to them what the Firestone store manager said. He put it back on the machine and showed me there wasn't a thing wrong. You have to watch them.

That is not a dealer I would keep going to. Many auto parts store will read error codes for free and tell you what the code is for. It may be something very simple and inexpensive. Just by knowing what the code is you may know if the deal is full of crap. They could have knocked a sensor loose and are simply trying to rip you off, again.