A buck 7 years in the making

S

sharpshooter97

Decided to do a short write up on my 2020 deer hunt. So the backstory, in North Dakota our deer tags are drawn through a lottery aside from our otc archery tag. I was denied in '14 and '15 and then left for the Army. Although I am still an ND resident, training and deployment have kept me from making it home during our deer season so I had not applied for 4 years. I got home from Afghanistan last year just in time to tag along with my brother the next morning and watch him shoot a buck, this year I was bound and determined to make it home somehow as I love to deer hunt. I was full of excitement when I saw my application was successful this year, I immediately requested leave for the hunt although covid restrictions left things a bit unlcear I eventually got the ok and the week before opener I packed up the truck and began the 1,300 mile journey home.

Last edited by a moderator:
After a long day and half of driving I made it back about a week before opener which gave me some time with family and a little pheasant hunting along with scouting, saw more pheasants than I had in a long time and we bagged enough for a good meal the first weekend back. Did some scouting and put out a trail camera but with the warm temps that week I was not seeing many deer at all. But when opening day came around I was ready to be out there, sat and glassed the first afternoon and saw no deer activity until a few minutes after legal shooting light when I saw a very nice buck. I had my hopes up for the first full day

Attachments

• Snapchat-2091353700.jpg
    Snapchat-2091353700.jpg
    733.8 KB · Views: 11
Last edited by a moderator: