Yeti GOBOX Collection

7,62x39 on game

Bush Baby

I have noticed lately a number of people here in South Africa, advocating the use of the 7,62x39 (.30 Russian) on game animals. Some even going so far as to suggest that it is nearly ideal as a bushveld (brush/woods) calibre, for game up to and including Impala/Reedbuck (Warthogs?) – game up to 200lbs – where ranges don’t normally exceed 150 meters.
Along with the 7.62x39, the 6x45 is also being touted as an ideal bushveld calibre for the same class of game.
I have no experience with the 6x45, but given its moderate velocity of 2300 - 2400fps, coupled with a bullet of decent sectional density (100gr at .242 – equal to a .308/165gr), I can understand its effectiveness in experienced hands. Although I feel it might be a too light for Warthogs, especially big boars.

To my mind, the Russian round is not at all suitable. Its velocity is fine (2360fps), but the 123gr bullet it uses is totally unsuitable. This bullet has a very low sectional density of .183 – offering poor penetration and probably no exit wound, also many people will use 125gr .308 bullets if they can’t find the correct size of .310, and 125gr bullets in .308 are not designed for controlled expansion, maybe not even at 2360fps, and I doubt bullets in .310 are of any better construction.
Perhaps the idea is to use 150gr (.308 cal.) bullets at around 2100fps – if you can achieve decent accuracy. This I feel is only slightly better, sectional density at .226 is still not good, and at 100 meters, assuming a spitzer style bullet, impact velocity will be around 1850-1900fps, making reliable expansion doubtful.
That these cartridges can kill game in this class is not in dispute, that they are capable of RELIABLY doing so in the hands of Mr Average, is questionable.