Leupold BX-4 Rangefinding Binoculars

2019 Wyoming Elk

icebreaker12

This one is going to take a little bit of set up. I was working with a fellow hunttalker (who will be with me on this hunt) and we managed to find a perfect time to take a break and find some service just in time for the 10am draw result release. I was pretty much in shock when for the first time in my 3 years as a resident I had drawn my first choice antelope and elk tag that wasn’t nearly guaranteed. This elk tag was no where close to guaranteed. Excitement continued as my buddy had also drawn the same goat tag and his first choice deer tag. The texts went around and everyone was excited about the fall to come.

My friend and I went back to work and finished up and headed back home. I checked my phone to see I had a message from a PA number requesting a call back. I had applied for a new job in Pennsylvania in April. I had been through two interviews by the time June 20th rolled around. Sure enough, I got the job. I was really excited about the new job, but a small art of me knew this meant the fall would not look as I had thought it would just a few hours previous.

Ended up starting the new job in early September with no time to archery hunt on the elk tag. I decided it was unrealistic I would get to hunt on my goat and deer tags and donated them.

The first week I started the job I brought up the idea of taking off work to come back for this elk tag. Luckily, everyone understands the what an opportunity a tag like this is, so everyone was on board with finding a way to make it happen even without a lot of leave.

So here I am, sitting on a plane heading from PA to WY. The reverse trip of my interview just 5 months ago. I’ll do my best to keep you updated as we attempt to fill this tag this week!

Your choice of hunting partners is questionable. I’m planning to spend all week in my crocs.

Also, you could do me a solid and tell mrs madtom that you don’t care how clean our house is or isn’t.