Gastro Gnome - Eat Better Wherever

2 more bears down and that ends my season.

Daniel in Ak

Pictures soon when Im not tired.Gotta get all the gear up and the boat worked on,and of all things I gotta help momma with her dad-gum yard sale.Daniel

Bears down...

ok so I met a fella from a local website that was asking about the Yukon River and I told him to call me as I could answer some questions.

Long story short.He's Retired Military and he invited his friend who ha! is my neighbor and is Active Duty.Ok! SO I invite them to go since I was pulling my bait and drums,and heck they said they'd pay for all my fuel and food.

Come on Im no Rocket Scientist,but I figured that was a good trade off for two bears.

So we head north from Fairbanks at 7 pm Friday nite and we head for the stand.
IMGP2791.jpg

Doing what I always do.....Glassing that shoreline.
IMGP2789.jpg

At the landing site we see bear tracks...
DSC00648.jpg

I have them on stand at 12.43 am and I hit the the sack back at camp when I wake up to gun fire......yeah you heard that right.GUN FIRE! not a gun shot.Turns out they got cold and went down to the river built a fire and one of em fell asleep.The other on an hour later checks out the bait station to see a bear with its head in the drum.He sneeks back and wakes up the other guy........(what a pal) and tells him to get up and go over to shoot that bear.

So They sneek up there and they both tag the bear only to see a 2nd bear off to the right and they both put the smack down on him.Hot dang a double on bears and guess what? Just under three hours on stand they shot them at 3:49am Needless to say we broke camp and was back in town 2 pm Saturday afternoon hanging out with the Taxidermist.Thats so awesome an 19 hour hunt and two bears down and two new friends.
IMGP2796.jpg

IMGP2804.jpg

total time hunting on stands.......10 hours 16 minutes and 6 bears down.Back at the campsite breaking camp.
DSC00661.jpg