Leupold BX-4 Rangefinding Binoculars

0 MOA or 20 MOA picatinny rail

NVDesertHunter

Hello,

I am looking at mounting bases to my rifle. I would like to mount a Picatinny rail on my Kimber hunter. I have little experience mounting bases. I plan on using a 50MM objective lens scope with tall scope rings and keep my shooting to under 600 yards.

Should I get the 0 MOA or 20 MOA rail??

Thanks and Happy Hunting.

don't bother with the 20moa rail...you may find that you can't dial down to shoot close. My 7mag with 20moa bases and Vortex rings can't be dialed down within 250 yards which is okay but at 100 yards I'm several inches higher than I like.

I like Talley rings and depending on the rifle and scope combo you may be able to get away with medium rings...?

Last edited:
Price should be same, at least it was for me from EGW when I bought mine. While its probably not needed, it would be nice to go with the 20 to ad some elevation for you. That way if you ever wanted to take a shot that was longer, you would prob be able to. The weight difference would be measured in grams, neglible.

Tall rings are going to be waaay too tall. I use lows with a rail and 56mm scope on a 5.5 contour barrel.

Tall rings are going to be waaay too tall. I use lows with a rail and 56mm scope on a 5.5 contour barrel.

I would get lows as well and 20 moa base. I've never had an issue getting my scopes to zero at 100

I have 20 MOA and have my rifle dialed in at 200 yards, but had no problems at 100 either when I was shooting it in...

So, most guys aren't shooting LR. Why the 20 MOA base then? mtmuley

Why own a diesel truck when all you're pulling is a 5'x8' trailer or aluminum bass boat that could be pulled with a sedan? It's because you want the ABILITY to be able to tow something heavier or in this case shoot farther...