Wyoming Elk Unit 1

Bobbyosan

Well, after 13 years of applying, I finally pulled my Wyoming any elk tag in Unit 1, the Black Hills of Wyoming. I have spent an endless amount of time in the South Dakota Black Hills during my 30 year career in the Air Force most of which was spent at Ellsworth AFB. If any of you have any information that could help me out it would be greatly appreciated!

I’ve got no knowledge of that area thus no advice however that is awesome and I wish ya the best of luck!

I have a friend in four corners. I'll try and get some info. Archery or gun? Dates?
Thanks for your 30 years of service. What did you do at Ellsworth?

I have a friend in four corners. I'll try and get some info. Archery or gun? Dates?
Thanks for your 30 years of service. What did you do at Ellsworth?
Thanks a million. Any information will be helpful. I will begin in September, probably around the 10th for archery. Will hunt probably 10 days. If I don’t fill I will go back the 15th of October for rifle. I worked on the B-1 bomber for about 15 years at Ellsworth and also was a First Sergeant for 4 years. I loved the Black Hills and South Dakota and never wanted to leave, but the Air Force had other plans. They moved me down to Missouri where I worked on the B-2 Bomber and also worked on the unmanned aerial vehicles (the Predators). We bought a super nice little farm and just didn’t have the want to move again! So here I am. I hunt elk in Colorado (Steamboat area) elk every year but finally cashed in on my Wyoming points this year. Super excited!

If you end up in the south part of the unit a case of beer is cheaper at trailshead, which is just inside the South Dakota border than it is at buckhorn. Good luck, that should be a really fun hunt!

If you end up in the south part of the unit a case of beer is cheaper at trailshead, which is just inside the South Dakota border than it is at buckhorn. Good luck, that should be a really fun hunt!