What to do

starvingoutdoorsman

So the time has come for me to rethink my hunting. I knew my wife never cared for me doing it but I told her if I was forced to quit, I would be gone quicker than she could blink. And that was that. Fast forward 8 or so years. We have two awesome kids. They are my everything and I would do anything for them as most parents should for their kids. My son was diagnosed a couple years ago with EoE which in short causes inflammation in his esophagus and stomach and in the long term can cause more issues. The inflammation is caused by certain foods. We had to take him off all mammalian type meats (beef, pork, lamb, and of course wild game) thus rendering my need for hunting to feed my family a solid 0... Ive been hunting for 20 years now. My wife does not want the meat in the house whatsoever. I am scrambling. I am not much of a bird hunter but they never took him off bird. I crave the adventure and love to eat what I bring home from the prairies, river bottoms, and mountains. I am not re-thinking my stance on just hunting for the love of it and horns now. I do not care to hunt for just that at the moment. Ya that is an added bonus and such. But the meat and BBQ'ing burgers and steaks is what drove me to fill tags. I know I can feed others with the animals I bring home as I have plenty of friends and family that would love it. But the decision to stop what I have invested so much into keeps cropping up in my mind. I had dreams of bugling bulls and have yet to even tag one. I dream of the big 3 and maybe even a grizzly someday in Montana. But without the need for me to bring anything home anymore... I am torn the choice I have in front of me. It has been my passion. Now it seems to be hanging in the balance.