Toy Hauler for a 1/2 Ton?

AZbywayofWI

Do any of you guys tow a Toy Hauler with a 1/2 ton? I have been looking around for a Toy Hauler that I can utilize for hunting/ camping but not have to purchase a new truck to do it. I could go out and buy a diesel but my truck is paid off and has under 75k, I really do not want a new truck payment. I have a 2016 Ford F-150 3.5L Ecoboost (not looking to get into the Ford VS Chevy VS Dodge battle here), which Ford says is rated to tow 12,200 lbs. I would obviously want to stay as far under that max tow rating as possible. I have been looking at the NOBO 19.1T which seems light weight enough, 4264Lbs, add in my UTV, gas, gear, and people; I think I could pull that although I won't be winning any races up the mountain. I would also like to be able to fit a UTV inside and I think the interior height on the NOBO might be to short. Any suggestions?

Thanks,

Matt

Last edited:
I have one that I've been towing with my 1/2 ton for 3 years now. Toy Haulers are just going to weigh more than a regular travel trailer. The one I'm pulling weighs around 7,000 empty and has a payload capacity of 4,000 pounds on top of that. I end up loading it up to around 10,000 pounds depending on if it has a full tank of water or not. (mine holds 100 gallons of fresh water).

After my last trip to Utah going up and down the mountains my wife decided that I should get a 3/4 ton. The truck can pull it but is going 25 mph revved out in 1st gear by the time we got to the top of some of the climbs. I eventually got the engine braking figured out but that was also a revved out 1st or 2nd gear to get the engine brake to work on the gas engine.

We usually plan our routes out carefully to avoid big grades and pull at 65 mph and had done okay the last couple years with it but if you are going to be spending much time in the mountains you might look at upgrading.