Thoughts on MR dragon slayer

gman82001

Does anyone run one of the Mystery Ranch Dragon slayers or even the Bighorn I need the good bad and the ugly. Im leaning more towards the dragon slayer though. Im looking for an awesome day pack to end all day packs ive tried all the box store stuff and a couple months ago picked up a used Kuiu icon 1850 thinking it would be the one but it just doesn't feel right to me im 6'3 260 and biiiiggggg. and extended all the way just feels like I need another couple inches on everything but especially the shoulders to hip length so im hoping the MR adjustable yoke is the ticket. I don't need a huge pack just a good solid daypack that will handle a front shoulder strapped to it on the first load out. we hunt all day from camp or a trail head but always come back to camp at night so no need for a huge freighter setup at this point. Any input from you guys would be much appreciated

I've been using a bighorn for a couple years now for almost all my day hunting. I really like the pack, fits me really well although I'm built quite a bit different than you at 5'10" 155. I've happily packed a couple elk quarters in it. I have a couple friends with dragon slayers and they are happy as well. I think the bighorn is a little taller frame so that may be of some benefit for you at your height.

I had a Dragon Slayer for a couple years & loved it. Lightweight and very comfortable. I packed out a boned out mule deer with no trouble.

I ended up selling it to a friend so I could buy a Crew Cab. I wish I would have hung onto it for day hunts. Mine was a large yolk and medium waist. I am 6' 3", 215# and it fit perfect.

thanks guys ive looked and looked and decided to give it a try maybe this will be "The ONE"