Thinking bout 10 gauge?!

IdahoCritterGetter

I am fairly new to the waterfowln and was wondering if anyone round here has recently used 10 gauge for ducks? I know it is not uncommon for goose huntn but just thought I would ask.

Why would you want to do that? Just wondering what a 10 ga. can do for ducks that a 12 ga. wouldn't?
Nemont

I agree with NEMont. I don't see any benefit to using a 10 ga., unless you want to spend more $$ on ammo and go home with a bruised shoulder.

I am looking forward to seeing and hearing about your waterfowl excursions.

thanks for the feedback, main reason is still haveing trouble judgeing distance and seem to be shooting at them a little higher than norm. don't bruise so not worried bout all that, but ammo would be a big factor for this country boy I recon. 12ga. loads high enough. Thanks again though appreciate feed back.

I use a rem sp-10 on ducks, mostly just to get used the same gun for geese. You won't extend your range too much going from a 12 to a 10 (perhaps a few yards) but you will put more shot in your target(cleaner kill). To use as a dedicated duck gun, I think i'd stick with a 12 and switch to heavy shot or bismumth. A really high velocity steel load (1450 fps or so) might be another answer. With steel you want velocity, not more payload.

I guess a comprimise would be one of those new er 12 gauges that shoot 3 1/2, 3, and 2 3/4 inch shells. I think a 10 gauge is 4 inch and has more pellets, so you could shoot a bigger pellet and have more of them in the 10 guage, so you would get more power that way, but a 12 would do well on ducks. If they fly fast, its really hard to judge where to shoot. Maybe wait till they've almost landed or really slow down, so you nail them. You could always practice with those clay pigeons, this is the time of year for that.