Leupold BX-4 Rangefinding Binoculars

seeking Montana and Wyoming turkey hunting opportunities

jeffpg

Hey fellas,

I’m here in Billings, Montana working for a couple of months. I’m from Mississippi but I spend a lot of time out west for both work and play. I have a lot of hunting experience for big game during the normal fall hunting seasons in most of the western states, but I haven’t hunted during any spring season yet.

I would really like to hunt spring turkeys nearby this year. I will be pretty busy until about May 1, at which time I will hope to have a nice block of time off. I have no idea of where to start learning about where to go, but I’m guessing that there should be public land access and possibly private as well. Any and all tips & info will be greatly appreciated.

I would also be interested in hunting in Wyoming when I head south from Montana sometime after May 1.

I am also very interested in hunting spring black bear, but I will make a separate post about that.

I have some fantastic turkey and axis deer hunting opportunities on a 5k acre archery only ranch in west Texas to offer in return for your help.

Thanks,

Jeff

Welcome to Montana from another Mississippian. I've lived in SW MT for 4 years. I would like to chase some turkeys this spring too. I haven't hunted them since we left MS. Most of the best turkey hunting will be east of Billings.

I would look into the black hills in north east Wyoming. There is a good of amount of land to hunt with Black Hills national forest and scattered parcels of state and blm. I have never turkey hunted it but seen alot of them while deer hunting there.