Rangefinder Scopes

ChrisC

I see that the topic of rangefinding binoculars is brought up often, and that several manufacturers make them. However, i dont hear much about rangefinding scopes. a quick Google search shows that Burris makes one but I don't typically hear anything about this. I'd imagine it could be useful if, say, you are watching a buck run around with some does and, as a result, his range keeps changing.

I'm no expert but they are few and far between. Also, I'm sure they are expensive. I don't mind having a separate range finder. Its an art to maneuver your gear according to the animal's movement but it's part of the dance!

Sig has one that connects via bluetooth to your phone, which has your ballistic data entered into it and then gives you a dot for your hold over.

There has to be a line when it comes to technology and hunting. I am ok with a range finding binocular or scope, but not one that gives you a point of aim after collecting the range.

I mean if you are going there why take an active part in the shooting of the rifle at all... I mean shooting a elk running at 20mph 1400 yards out with a heads up display, great way to bag your booner...
https://www.tracking-point.com/

In all seriousness I use my rangefinder for archery, and to keep me honest when rifle hunting. I don't shoot beyond my MPBR, which is a personal limit there are lots of others people who can ethically shoot much further. In my case if I range a buck at 180 and he chases a doe out to 250 I'm not adjusting my point of aim that much so to me it doesn't really matter. I imagine if a deer is far enough out that 20-40 yards really matters, and is chasing does and therefore moving you don't want to shoot simply because of bullet flight time. Maybe that's not an issue, like I said I'm not shooting 800 yards at animals.