Use Promo Code Randy for 20% off OutdoorClass

Quality rings. To lap or not to lap? That is the question

Mako

OK. So I know I will likely get flamed for this question as it has been asked many times, but I'm pretty new at this and I figure new posts are what keep a forum going, so what the heck?

I mounted and sighted in my first scope several months ago. It was a Leupold scope, and I used Leupold rings. I didn't lap the rings mainly because I've read that with modern technology and machining processes it's not necessary and blah, blah, blah... I haven't had issues with that rifle and scope and am ringing steel out to 400 yards, so maybe I got lucky and got perfectly, or near perfectly concentric rings. I also watched a video on YT by GunBlue490, whom I have a lot of respect for, and he advised against it as well saying it's not necessary if you use quality rings. After learning more about rings and bases and reviewing his video again, it looks like he was using Warne and Badger Ordnance rings. From what I've read, they (Warne and Badger) specifically advise against lapping. What about Leupold rings, are they considered good quality? What are some other manufacturers besides Warne, Badger, and Seekins that offer good quality rings that don't require lapping, and what are your experiences with them?

I'm not opposed to lapping. As a former mechanic I'm very handy with tools and am always eager to use my tools and try new things as I'm sure most everyone on this forum is. Who doesn't jump at the chance to play with their tools and guns? It's just that I have only two rifles and don't want to end up with a scope lapping and mounting kit that I will only use once and then put on a shelf to collect dust, or sell at a loss. I would gladly pay extra for rings that are precision machined in the first place.

What say all of you?

Last edited:
I'll agree unless they're vertically split rings, which I've never personally used anyways. I'll lap all horizontal rings