Gastro Gnome - Eat Better Wherever

North/Central California hogs

NV_ARCH3R

Looking for my next new hunting adventure. Anyone care to share any information on North or Central Californa public land hog areas??

Can’t recommend any central Ca public for reliable decent pig hunting. There is some on the Western side of the Southern Central Valley, but those hunt best in the spring during wet years. Highly recommend you look at private land for good pig hunting. San Benito, SLO counties on the private are very reliable.

Ditto above. The few public spots that hold pigs are pretty tough. Relatively few pigs, tough access, tough terrain, etc...No way I'd drive all the way from out of state for that. Lots of pigs on private, just gotta be prepared to pay a few bucks.

I'm just starting out and want to pig hunt. I had a tag last year but wasn't able to get out. I currently live in West San Jose but plan to retire to Lake County, they are much more friendly to hunting and fishing. I just recently joined the Konocti Rod and Gun Club, they have a range in Highland Springs.
I've kinda been thinking about a couple places discussed in this video.

Although a couple years old, it's got a lot of useful info.

Anyone hunting hogs in the northern part of A zone? A friend talked me out of North Cow Mountain, claiming it's too crowded and it's steep.

I'm just starting out and want to pig hunt. I had a tag last year but wasn't able to get out. I currently live in West San Jose but plan to retire to Lake County, they are much more friendly to hunting and fishing. I just recently joined the Konocti Rod and Gun Club, they have a range in Highland Springs.
I've kinda been thinking about a couple places discussed in this video.

Although a couple years old, it's got a lot of useful info.

Anyone hunting hogs in the northern part of A zone? A friend talked me out of North Cow Mountain, claiming it's too crowded and it's steep.