Newbie Meat Grinding Question

mxracer317

First time meat grinder operator!

Just got a Meat! 1.5hp grinder for my birthday, and looking at making some jerky today!

In anticipation for this day, I took the frozen ground deer meat out and put it in the fridge to safely thaw a few days ago.

Today is the big day, but the ground meat is semi-thawed! Huh? It's been 1.5 days in the fridge!

The question I have is with a 1.5hp grinder, is grinding semi-thawed ground meat an issue?

P.S. The reason I am grinding this meat that the butcher did for me, is to do a finer grind and mix the seasoning once the grinder breaks it apart from being semi-thawed.

... Or do I just wait till it thaws?

Thanks y'all!

Mostly frozen is the way. I'm pretty new to grinding too, and have a 3/4 hp grinder. Grinding 50-60lbs of venison today w a buddy, there's some good info, thoughts and tips in the "Why my Grinder Sucks" thread.

We grind moose. If you're meat has been ground find a big clean cooler or tote. Most mixes for brats n sausages n jerkeys come in portions for making 25 pounds at a time. And while you are making it up, taste it. Make a couple little patties n ask others opinions. That's half the fun n keeps folks fed. Sausage cooking smells great too.
We use pork fat as a binder n flavor. The fat , bright white is different from suet to me. We also buy 5# blocks of bacon bits to add to the grind. Bacon jerky sounds pretty good. I know I would save some for bacon burgers on the grill.
That's the fun part. We make all kinds of sausages n brats, son does up jerky of all flavors.
So your going to have fun n it's a family affair for us. I particularly like to process our own meat.
And take one make one includes working n learning together as a family processing your own game, it's a win situation