Yeti GOBOX Collection

New to Iron Sights

longtail55

Hi guys, hoping for some tips or advice on shooting longer ranges with iron sights. Or maybe what targets you use? Im shooting a TC Omega with a williams peep sight and a Lyman globe front sight with the Lee shaver Fine Crosshair. Im new to this so just getting started but its tough for me to really get the crosshairs lined up on the bulleyes at 100 yards. Hard to see and focus on the bullseye. Im using 12x12 splatter targets that are black with a red bullseye. Before I start switching up my bullets and grains I wanted to try to take out as much user error as possible. I dont feel confident enough changing anything yet but my goal is to get dialed in at 100 and 200 yards.

Reactions: Guy
Shooting open sights is hard, but doable. This is why I use red dot sights for slug gun or ML. I do use fire sights for turkey hunting, and find those to be the easiest of open sights.

Frist, make sure the gun fits you correctly, with cheekweld and length of pull. If your cheek sits too high or too low to the sights, it makes aiming accurately impossible. Also, same thing if length of pull is too long or too short.

Once these things are accounted for, practice shouldering the gun with eyes closed. When you open your eyes, the front and rear sight should be aligned.

After you master this, there is proper aiming at the target. Your eye can only focus on one thing at a time: either the front sight, the rear sight, or the target. There are multiple ways to do this, but personally I focus on the target first, then raise the weapon. I then shift my focus from the target to the front sight. You will see a fuzzy target and a fuzzy rear sight, but will be able to see both well enough to see that all three are aligned. Then slowly squeeze the trigger.