Use Promo Code Randy for 20% off OutdoorClass

New to Elk hunting need some help! Please!

mikemmarino

Hello everyone, this is my first year getting leftover Colorado elk tag. It’s for 3rd season rifle (November 2-10). I honestly have no idea where to begin. I can hunt a lot of units but don’t even know what unit would be good. I am not looking for a 350 bull I m just looking for something legal and to have a good time. Can you guys help me? I attached the units I can hunt.

Attachments

• AF69CFE7-5C30-41FF-9A52-0ECCB5BCD68D.jpeg
    AF69CFE7-5C30-41FF-9A52-0ECCB5BCD68D.jpeg
    165.5 KB · Views: 34
Welcome to HT!

I would start by doing some searches across this forum, then maybe watch a few of the freshtracks videos--there's a good one on over the counter Colorado elk. Those should really give you some good ideas where to start.

Beyond that, figure out if you're gonna be day tripping or camping, then pick some spots in your units you think you can access, and go from there. There's a lot of good information if you search here about where elk tend to live, what to look for in terms of elk signs, etc.

I'd also call the local wildlife biologist and ask her/him for any advice on where to expect them that time of year--they move around a lot depending on weather, rut, etc, so they may be on the top of the ridge one week and down in the valley the next.