Caribou Gear

New Mexico elk unit 34 archery

darrengresham

I’m brand new to elk hunting. This September 15-24th will be my first ever trip. I got really lucky and drew 2nd archery tags for unit 34. I will more than likely be going by myself. Any unit specific tips anyone willing to give me would be great. I’ve been working on my calls for 5 months now and have been doing all my homework on elk hunting. The only part I’m missing is where to go. From what I’ve read there is elk all over that unit. But specifically, are they usually at a certain elevation and if anybody could just point me to a good general area I’d greatly appreciate it

Step 1) Get a map of the Sacramento Ranger District for the Lincoln National Forest.
2) Put the map on the wall.
3) Throw a dart at the map on the wall.
4) Go hunt elk where the dart lands you lucky SOB...
Thanks. Lol. I’ve been on onxmaps constantly looking for good spots. This was my first year ever putting in for any draw and I got elk and mule deer tags. Also my first year ever hunting outside of Texas. It’s intimidating. I just didn’t know if one area in that unit was any better than another.

This /\/\/\/\/\
elk are everywhere you will not have any issue zero issue finding elk. Have fun and welcome to HT. Seriously though don't sweat it you will be all over elk in there.

This /\/\/\/\/\
elk are everywhere you will not have any issue zero issue finding elk. Have fun and welcome to HT. Seriously though don't sweat it you will be all over elk in there.

I appreciate it. Now I just have to figure out my mule deer tags. Both hunts are in september.

This /\/\/\/\/\

I did have one more question I’m getting conflicting answers for. Can I camp anywhere in the national forest or do I have to be in a designated camping area?