Caribou Gear Tarp

New guy

matt0550

Hi everyone, a new guy here - I'm from Michigan which means I dont know what mature deer look like, but I hope to learn one day. I've been hunting for 22 years, mostly here in the dead spike horn capital of the world, but I have also hunted in Colorado, North/South Dakotas and Canada. No surprise here, ALL of my out of state hunts have been stellar in comparison to hunting in Michigan (and I hunt both upper and lower peninsulas). I am trying to draw a Colorado pronghorn tag and a Montana deer tag this year and God willing one of them will come through.

I truly appreciate all of the good information located here and I understand how hard-earned most of this information is. Thank you all for the connection you create for all of the hunters who come here to converse and share.

Welcome, where in MI are you from?

I wouldn’t dog Michigan so bad, there are a lot of bruisers killed hear each year. Commemorative bucks of MI has a few pages added each year.

Welcome aboard. If you have hunted Michigan for 22 years and have not killed a nice buck something is WRONG.

Welcome, where in MI are you from?

I wouldn’t dog Michigan so bad, there are a lot of bruisers killed hear each year. Commemorative bucks of MI has a few pages added each year.
I'm from the thumb. And your right I shouldn't dog Michigan so badly.

The truth is there are more than a handful of nice sized Bucks taken every year in this state. The vast overwhelming majority of those wall hangers are taken in large tracts of private land and in situations where neighbors practice true QDM. But to be brutally honest the majority of the deer that hang on buck poles from coast to coast from top to bottom in this state are 2.5 years and younger - that is truly a crime. Another thing to examine when we look at Michigan is the fact that this state boasts the most lopsided buck to doe ratio in the nation for whitetail deer.