Gastro Gnome - Eat Better Wherever

New bow, maybe?

BiggWimm

Hey all- I am just getting started in the game of bowhunting and I was wondering if anyone as heard positives or negatives about a specific bow I am interested in. I went to a local pro shop, Jakes Archery in Orem, Utah, and shot a few brands to see what was most comfortable to me. Incidentally, I felt really comfortable shooting the G5 Quest Primal, or XBP.

I am curious to know if there is any feedback regarding this bow/brand and would love to hear it before I go and spend a crap-load of money.

Thanks for your time!!

Go to a Bass Pro Shop and check into their Red Head line of bows. They have a few bows that rival higher priced 'name brand' bows for half the price, and you can get a package that comes with a quiver and sights and release.

There's nothing wrong the the Quest bows at all.

As a bow hunter, I would suggest not blowing the wad on your first bow. You can get several good bows outfitted and ready to go for around $500. Use that bow for a couple years and get someone to show you proper form and technique and DON'T think you have to be a tough guy and start out with the highest possible draw weight. You won't enjoy shooting the bow if you're sore all the time and shooting inconsistently because of bad technique due to a high draw weight. Start low and work yourself up to what's comfortable and consistent and stay there.

Also, for a first bow, check out something used. You can get good bows for nearly half the price watching classified ads on Archerytalk.com or ebay. If you get one that way, take it to your pro shop and have it checked over and set up to you and tuned up. There's nothing wrong with starting out with a used bow. You may decide that you don't really like it as much as you thought you would, and then you're not stuck with a $1000 paperweight in the closet gathering dust.