Musings from my 2023 solo hunt

Green Hunter

I have been hunting CO solo for the past three years, typically pulling an OTC tag in hopes of building up points for other units. Last year I hunted third-season OTC and pulled a cow tag from the leftover tags to increase my chances of success. It was a great opportunity to learn the unit, trails, and expose myself to some FRIGID temps, waking up to 0* F several mornings.

This year I reviewed the leftover list and was excited to see a bunch of any sex tags available for first season and decided to try to get one of those. I thought I knew the country and had several run-ins with elk the prior year, but no success, this would be the year! I pulled one of the either sex tags so points continue to build and I am feeling good about this year!

I typically hunt from my car, sleeping in the back, hiking through the day and returning back for something to eat and sleep before going back out. Picked up some new ammo and sighted in the .308 so I was feeling good. Last year I got frustrated chasing zero with some factory ammo and didn't feel nearly as confident as I did this year.

Snow on Thursday night caused some hesitation on my departure. I wasn't looking forward to going over the pass with icy roads so I didn't leave until Friday morning. The other side of the pass was covered in ice so I was happy with my decision.

1698333779256.png