Meet Grinnell, my Red-tailed Hawk

Sorry to hear. Hope you have good luck finding a prairie falcon.
Bittersweet I'm sure, now she is free but you will miss her.

I’m just catching up on this, as I’m relatively new to HT.

Thanks for sharing. This was fascinating to read.

Please continue to post, if you feel so inclined, once you have the a prairie falcon.

I was a volunteer raptor monitor in Boulder, CO, and was assigned to a prairie falcon nest for a few years. I loved my mornings watching the birds. Unfortunately, the years I was watched that nest were unsuccessful, and I never saw any little ones fledge.

They are amazing birds, and occupy a big place in my heart.

Good luck in your future falconry endeavors!

Last edited:
I released Grinnell today. Our journey has closed. I will find a praire falcon this summer and behind trainging her for this fall. It is bittersweet for sure. Everytime I see a redtail, I'll wonder if it's her.

View attachment 181649

Oh! I have slipped the surly bonds of Earth
And danced the skies on laughter-silvered wings;
Sunward I’ve climbed, and joined the tumbling mirth
Of sun-split clouds, – and done a hundred things
You have not dreamed of – wheeled and soared and swung
High in the sunlit silence. Hov’ring there,
I’ve chased the shouting wind along, and flung
My eager craft through footless halls of air…

Sad but sweet. Magical to share your life with a wild creature.

I too am also a fan of Gillespie. Only poem I've ever memorized. :)

...Up, up the long, delirious, burning blue
I’ve topped the wind-swept heights with easy grace.
Where never lark, or even eagle flew —
And, while with silent, lifting mind I've trod
The high untrespassed sanctity of space,
– Put out my hand, and touched the face of God."

I released Grinnell today. Our journey has closed. I will find a praire falcon this summer and behind trainging her for this fall. It is bittersweet for sure. Everytime I see a redtail, I'll wonder if it's her.