Meat in the Freezer, But...

Dsnow9

Being a Colorado resident I had an either sex first season rifle tag this year as well as a late season “special” cow tag.

First season was a bit of a rough one, camping at 10000 feet, 3 miles back from the end of an unmaintained road, in the snow and didn’t see much. Spotted one group of elk on the third day, including the bull of a lifetime. They were about a mile away and 1000 vertical feet. They were steadily moving across the hillside so we made a move for it. We never caught up, we tracked them into the blow down and did all we could. We never saw them again, that first season ended in tag soup for my hunting partner and I.

Just under two months later my cow tag was coming up. The unit I was hunting had two sections of public land that totaled less than 4000 acres all together. I went out scouting the week before the season and hiked up about two miles in thigh deep snow to check out a spot I thought would be great. Saw two tracks within glassing distance.

As the sun started to set I looked across the valley to the other section, much mellower terrain, more open meadows, and surely 10 times the people on opening day, there were tracks everywhere, and spotted a half dozen cows as the sun went down. The boot skiing excursion back down to the truck was much more enjoyable than the hike up.

878EBDEC-133F-4B40-A9CD-3F901CBA724B.jpeg