MTNTOUGH - Use promo code RANDY for 30 days free

Looking for Guidance

peterk1234

This is my first year as a resident hunter in Montana. I got my general tags and got a couple of B tags, but I really had no plan when applying for them. I did not go for a bear or pronghorn tag because I did not feel like I was ready this year to hunt them. I figured baby steps.

I don't care much about the size of an antler. I just like the experience of being out there and I want to provide some good tasting meat for the family. I have my first overnight solo backcountry hunt under my belt, which was just a ton of fun. Gear works, clothes work. Also have done a multi day, camp/hunt near the truck hunt. That is just luxury living. So, I have the basics down and I am comfortable now in my element.

I know we have a lot of hunting yet this season, but I am slowly starting to plan for next year. This year I have learned the value of a good B tag. By pure chance, I drew a B tag for a zone near me that allowed me to take an antlerless mule deer. I had no idea how valuable that tag is for a guy that loves to hunt deer with a bow until the opportunity was staring me in the face, broadside at 20 yards.

So I am looking for some general guidance. This is not a "where should I go" question. This is a "How do you guys make the choices you do" question when applying for certain tags. For example, some B tags are for a specific zone, but some are for an entire region. It would seem to me that I should go for the region B tag if the zone I would hunt in is in that region. But then the question is how does it affect my odds, and how do I figure that out? What about strategies for first, second and third choices when applying?

For a person that is willing to drive anywhere in the state for whitetail, muley, elk and now bear and antelope, and is not focused on mass and size, how and where (what resources) are you going to analyze the data?

What else am I not thinking about?