Caribou Gear

Fluted Barrels / Vertical Stringing

Brian in Montana

I'm still relatively new to handloading, but I've done some great work with my .308 and 7mm08. This past summer I bought a Weatherby Vanguard Wilderness in .270 win. I haven't experimented with it as much as the others yet, but I am having some trouble finding a load as accurate as with the other 2. I always shoot 5 shot groups, but I seem to get some vertical stringing, in a general sense with the .270, where that's never been a problem with the others.

So a theory I have is the difference in barrels. The 7mm08 is a Remington 700 (not floated, but the barrel is pretty solid, the way Remington makes them). The .308 is a T3X lite (free-floated barrel, not fluted). The .270 is a light weight, fluted barrel that is not free floated. I'm guessing that the less steel in the barrel, coupled with the contact points in the stock, makes it a little more susceptible to vertical stringing and other inaccuracies as the barrel heats up.

Make sense? Anyway I'm going to try just shooting 3 shot groups with my next load tests, let it cool more, and see what difference that makes.

Maybe your over heating it a bit?? Sounds bad but I would have been surprised if the tikka T3x didn't shoot well.
1. What is your seating depth of the lands in the 7-08 & 308? I guess the vanguard has the freebore?
2. Have you tried increasing and decreasing powder charges by .2grn? and charting? Even trying another powder.
3. What bullet are you shooting?