First Time Elk Hunter Pulled For New Mexico's UNIT 52

worknhunt

Determined newbie here (to the group and to elk hunting). So I got pulled for Unit 52 Elk tag for the first couple weeks of September (bow only) and am trying to make as much of a plan as possible before my outing. I grew up hunting whitetail in the pines of GA, always dreaming of getting to go on a elk hunt one day, and I believe I finally am getting my chance. I've been reading up on their behaviors, made a couple bugle calls, and think i got a decent foundation to get my feet wet and hopefully get some eyes on some elk. Now I am turning to the most stand-up community for the type of details that only come with experience. Reaching out to the group to see if anyone has any helpful hints, learning, or suggestions about Unit 52. Not here trying to pry "honeyholes" out of anyone, just something to get me started off on the right foot to maybe save me a wasted year of running around the Unit. Things like good access points from the road, suggested trails, good base camp spots, things to bring specific to this Unit, etc. I am in good shape and am not shy of going deep as needed, but like I said just any tips to help guide me in the right direction so I can get off on the right foot and hopefully bag me some meat would be greatly appreciated. Would love to show up to my best buddies wedding on Sept 12th with an Elk backstrap to share with the crew! Thanks in advance!

I'm going to be a bit of a Debbie downer here... Elk hunting is difficult, and bow hunting is 50x more difficult than rifle. It's not uncommon for five season to go past without harvesting an elk with a bow, so be prepared for disappointment come fall.

Also, welcome to ht.