Gastro Gnome - Eat Better Wherever

Ethics question

RayRay

I am pretty new to hunting. Grew up with a dad who had hunted a lot prior to me being old enough to go and when I was he had become to ill to enjoy it. I learned a lot of good ethics from him on the few hunts we did get to go on however now that dad isn’t around anymore I figured this is the best place to ask this question as I’ve always enjoyed watching Randy’s stuff and he always speaks highly of the hunters here. (Sorry for the long intro here it is).

I wasn’t drawn for an elk tag this year, but still I have been practicing bugling/calling. Is it unethical/rude for me to practice calling in a bull this September? Are the bulls receptive to calling prior to season opening so I can practice before I’d be in anyone’s way? I’ve heard people bugling at night unarmed so they obviously wouldn’t be accused of hunting after sun down. Is that a thing?

Any experience or tips of what you have done to practice this would be appreciated.

thanks
-noob

The beauty of public land is you can go out there and enjoy it in a variety of ways. I practice calling in turkeys during youth season on public, but if someone’s nearby I give them a very wide berth so as not to interfere with their hunt.

Welcome to HT

Totally fine. The only way someone is going to get upset is if you are in an area they are hunting and you screw up their hunt. If no one is around the area like ElkFever said it’s public land for all to enjoy. You could even go do it right next to someone and I wouldn’t call it unethical but it would be a D move.

If you go out I’d make sure you take a camera / videocam to get pics or video.