Diagnosing bullet seating issue (Frankford Arsenal Universal die making loud click when seating, inconsistent depth)

yakimanoob

Hey folks,

I am new to reloading, and I'm trying to figure out why I'm getting very inconsistent CBTO measurements (+/- 0.010 in some cases) when seating bullets. I'm working on three loads right now:
  • Hunting load option #1: 150gr Nosler E-tip over H4350
  • Hunting load option #2: 131gr Hammer Hunter over RL-16
  • Practice load: 140gr Sierra SPBT over Accurate 2460
All use new Hornady brass that I've been fire-forming in the load development stages; after my next range trip everything I have will be once-fired and I'll go from there. CCI #34 primers on everything.

Sizing is being done with my FL RCBS die, and I'm using the Frankford Arsenal Universal bullet-seating die. When seating bullets, the bullet seems to be grabbing inside the seating stem and pulling it down as I lower the round out of the die. This causes a loud snap/click as the spring returns the die to its original position. This doesn't happen at all with the Sierra SBT, only happens a little but mostly not at all with the E-tips, and it's very dramatic with the Hammers. So I assume it has something to do with the flatter ogive profile of the bullets?

I don't have the means of checking bullet runout, but I have to assume it's bad given how inconsistent my CBTO measurements are. (btw, I'm using the Hornady comparator attachment and have verified the measurements on two different sets of calipers).

Any ideas on what to change to get better results? I'm almost done with my ladder testing, and it's going to be pretty hard to test seat depth and fine-tune my charges by group size if I can't get my bullets seated consistently...

Thanks in advance for the advice.

Pull your seating stem and see how well if fits the bullet. If you bullet is getting stuck in the stem it will definitely pull the bullet back out of the case a little as you retract your ram.