Determine "the right" length of pull

Horn Seeker

Ok, I've looked around a bit and the other day, for the first time in a long time of looking I ran into a method to determine The proper LOP for you.

It was a video Boyd's puts out. the guy measured 5 3/4 inches back from trigger and made a line on a piece of tape on the stock. Then, he shouldered the rifle and put a line on that tape where the end of his nose was. Ideally, the two lines would be the same. If not, adjust length of stock to bring the nose to the line 5 3/4" from trigger.

Well, just for kicks, I tried this on the rifle I've been shooting for 18 years, with a factory standard 13 1/4 LOP... my nose was a full inch in front of the line on the tape! Telling me my stock should be an inch longer with a 14 1/4" LOP.

I am 5'7 (almost)... this sounds ridiculous. I thought for sure it was gonna tell me I'd have to cut my stock down! Anyhow, I'm not changing anything. My point is, to start a new shooter, do you make some sort of measurement to determine correct LOP? Do custom gun makers have a formula??

Thanks for anything!!

Last edited:
My understanding would be that the LOP would be more based on how wide your shoulders are and how long your neck is than how tall you are.

With that said, the way I decided on my LOP was by shouldering a few rifles and deciding which felt the most comfortable. Almost always the rifle with the longer LOP feels more comfortable to me, around 13 3/4". Not sure I've seen any much longer than that, 14 1/4" would be a very long LOP.

Are you broad shouldered with a long neck?