Leupold BX-4 Rangefinding Binoculars

Building points for first season rifle in Colorado, which unit?

okie_hotrod

This next year I plan to start building points in Colorado for a first rifle season elk hunt. I plan to hunt OTC in Utah until I'm able to draw but I'm curious as to what unit to apply for that would give me the best odds of drawing every 2 or 3 years but still have a chance of killing a good bull. Colorado is closer to where I live but Utah tags are less expensive plus I have contacts there to help me with scouting and locating elk since I'm new to elk hunting. Any help would be much appreciated.

What do you consider a "good bull" and how hard are you willing to hunt/ what's your style of hunting. There are plenty of OTC or units that require 0pts for first rifle where you could kill a six point every year if you were willing pack in far and hunt hell holes.

I wouldn’t build too many elk points in CO as a nonresident. You won’t live long enough to catch up to the point creep and actually draw a tag in the highly-regarded units. And there are many units that you can draw for 0-3 points and have a fun, enjoyable elk hunt. Check out the “Hunting Statistics” page on the CPW website and check out the harvest success for the first-season hunts. Plenty of good options for units requiring 0-3 points.

Sorry,but I doubt anyone will name units for you on here.Go on the states website,and narrow down what units take 2-3pts for 1st rifle.Then look at public land access,harvest stats and elk populations.Once you pick a few units,call biologists or local warden and ask them about the unit your interested in.You'll get alot of satisfaction figuring it out yourself.

When is it time to apply for CO elk points? I haven't done it yet but I got invited to go hunt with a friend that moved there this year.