Barnes Vor-tx Misfires!

RobG

I bought some Barnes 30'06 180 gr Tipped TSX BT and just got back from the range. I had 4 misfires out of a box of 20!

I think this is first time I've had a misfire in the gun and I've been shooting it for 35 years. After some investigation (including shooting the whole box while debugging plus a control box of cheap fusion ammo) someone noticed that the primers of the misfires were set too deep. Anyone else having issues with this ammo?

rg

I had one misfire on me two years ago when I pulled the trigger on a bear. Luckily he stuck around long enough for me to chamber another round.

I had a 165 grain, .300WSM misfire last winter when I pulled the trigger on a 5 point muley with some trash - would have been my biggest mule deer. I shot my gun last weekend, Barnes were all over the place at 100 yards. low, even lower, high and to the right, high and to the left, and even higher. Switched to Bergers (had a box of 168 grain that I have never shot before) adjusted up/down once and grouping was perfect for the next 10 shots.

I am done with Barnes Vor-tx!!

My 300 WSM likes them, never had a misfire but since I havent started reloading for my 06's im going to buy some Federal Premium for this year.

I hear they sponsor an awesome show.

Sounds like I'm not the only one... Is there a tool - perhaps used by reloaders - that measures how far the primer is inserted? I got 4 bleeping boxes...

I have a call into Barnes... will see if they respond.

In a nod to the sponsors... I normally use Federal triple shocks and have never had a problem but I had to take what was on the shelf!

rg

I would think a primer would have to be really deep in order for that to be the issue. I seat my primers so they are just ever so slightly below flush with the case head. How deep are we talking?

Misfires soon tell you if you have a flinch, but they are no fun
and doubt is never good for accuracy. I would certainly not be hunting