PEAX Equipment

Backpacking fishing rods and tactics question

Another vote for the tenkara rod. As for flies, usually any small bead head nymph, or whatever I already have tied to my leader, haha. I do like a small beaded prince nymph.

Dumb question, if I'm lake fishing, how do I fish a nymph in a lake? Just use an indicator and strip it in?

Dumb question, if I'm lake fishing, how do I fish a nymph in a lake? Just use an indicator and strip it in?
I am by no means an expert fly fisherman, but I just cast it out there and slowly retrieve it. Similar to a streamer i guess, but slower. Seems to work well enough for me.

Lots of good advice in here, so I'll back up a lot of what's been said relative to a spin versus fly rod. I've been a fly fishing only kind of guy for 20 years, but am a proponent of spinning rods for backpacking/high country lakes.

If you're on streams, then flies all the way. I went through a number of eagle claw combo kits and wouldn't hesitate to get another one. Best of both worlds and cheap enough that you don't worry if you break it or lose it, plus you only carry 1 rod versus 2.

Flies: Adams, Hoppers, Stimulators & Caddis for dries, leeches, wooly buggers & whatever streamer catches your eye. Trout aren't terribly picky up high because of the short season.

Spinners: You'll never go wrong w/ a panther martin, blue fox or mepps spinner. Rapalas are great too, but you're likely to lose a lot of lures if you're fishing right. Lots of detritus in the water in high country lakes in the trees.

Baits: I've done well with soft baits like black rubber worms or even power bait worms. Never been one for jigging, so can't help there.

Lots of good advice in here, so I'll back up a lot of what's been said relative to a spin versus fly rod. I've been a fly fishing only kind of guy for 20 years, but am a proponent of spinning rods for backpacking/high country lakes.