Backcountry hot tips request

trb

I am a Colorado resident and very excited to have purchased my first muzzleloader, a CVA Wolf (along with a blackhorn breech plug and a Williams ghost ring sight). I have done a good bit of research on this forum and other websites to educate myself about different loads, care and cleaning tips ex cetera. However, I don't personally know any experienced muzzleloader hunters.

What i haven't seen online is a list of tips for using muzzleloaders in the backcountry. I am planning on a 9 day backcountry elk and deer hunt this coming season, and I was hoping some experienced folks might be willing to share a breakdown of their backcountry setups.

I'm particularly interested in: what does your minimalist backcountry cleaning set up look like? Are there tools (like a bullet extractor) that you view as a necessity to have with you/pack in? Do you have multiple vials of premeasured powder with you? Do you bring all your powder premeasured? Im planning on taping the muzzle, but if the weather isn't great and it rains a little, would you definitely reload that night? What if it is drizzling all day, how do you adjust? Do you walk around, including still hunting, with the percussion cap already in?

Any other advice or tips are greatly appreciated! Sorry in advance if any of these questions are obvious or repetitive, just trying to limit my "beginner mistakes".

Thank you!

You don't need a bullet puller with a removable breech plug. Pre measure charges, I keep 2 reloads in a zip lock, then the rest in vacuum sealed bags. Enough for 10 shots. You never know when the wheels are going to fall off with BP. I use those silicone primer holders, also in the Zip lock, with some spares in vacuum bags also.

Can't really help with the rain aspect, as we don't see much of it here.

You can get small o rings to put in front of your primer, should seal you up water tight..

Bring your breech wrench, cleaning jag, screwdriver..