Anyone hunt upland birds with a backpack?

AlaskaHunter

I hunt upland with a pack instead of a vest.
Not the backpack my avatar, but a big multi-day pack
Granite Gear 60 liter pack weighing 2.2 pounds.

Sometimes, especially early season in Hells Canyon. Need to carry too much water for the girls. When it’s cooler I get by with the 100oz bladder in my Quillomene vest.

Shoot a couple rounds of skeet with your pack on. You’ll look dumb but hit more birds.

If the birds are wearing a backpack I let em go ! Thay are a rare breed !...Couldn't resist. I wore a pack on nearly every type of hunt.

Fake news. I've been shooting with a pack for 40 years..

I do like the 60 liter capacity as I can haul tons of gear, water, etc.
and still plenty of room to pack back a shed antler, etc.
I tend to agree, started hunting as a kid in Alaska, better to have and not need was kinda drilled into my head. Learned to shoot with a pack on also learned how to get out of it quiet and quick. Never use the waist belt carrying a standard load. We moved to Oregon and quickly fell in love with Hells Canyon and a few other places where people often say “I aint going in there. About 8 years ago I fell and broke my leg Chukar hunting In hells canyon. Went lite that day, No fire starter, just enough water, no extra layers and dressed to move hard at cold temps, just a quick jaunt, only figured to climb 1500 feet or so and then cut across. Easy Peasy. Had to self extract because I got too cold to wait for help. Could have used a little more gear that day.
Last weekend Catherine and I on a 9 mile hike at altitude. I carry my elk hunting pack with plenty extra. Happened on a group that had suffered a knee injury. Out comes the knee brace I always have, hope he sends it back to me.