Caribou Gear Tarp

004-00 Montana elk B assistance

d-edward

Hoping for some help from the members on here. My father lives in Alaska and drew a 004-00 elk B tag and is looking for his first-ever elk this coming fall. I'm a MT resident and don't mind walking or putting in any amount of work to get him into good opportunities; however, he's almost 70 years old and is not the most fit for hiking through the woods for hours. I'm happy to do all the work for the hunt from start to finish...just would like to help him in what might be his only chance to get an elk. I'm also not interested in paying trespass fees to landowners for access.

Does anyone have some leads on Block Management areas, landowners who might be open to us hunting on their property or other ideas for hunts permissible under the tag regulations? I've read through some of the threads on others inquiring on the 004-00 tag and didn't see any leads, but entirely possible I missed some useful information. The hunt coordinator for region 4 also has not responded to my calls. Like I mentioned, happy to do all the legwork, make calls or knock on doors if that's needed - just looking for help getting pointed in the right direction. Would love to help him have a memorable experience this fall.

Thanks for any assistance provided!

Welcome! Google can be your friend. OnX shows there a fair amount of block management in that area. Take a look at the Montana block management to see how the program works to find out what you need to do to be able to hunt those areas.
http://fwp.mt.gov/hunting/hunterAccess/blockman/access.html

These is also forest service and state land there. Look at onX and do some googling to find out access rules. Good luck on your hunt.

Welcome! Google can be your friend. OnX shows there a fair amount of block management in that area. Take a look at the Montana block management to see how the program works to find out what you need to do to be able to hunt those areas.