Use Promo Code Randy for 20% off OutdoorClass

WY unit 63 when to go?

WinkB

Good morning,
I will be hunting Antelope in WY for the first time this year and I have drawn unit 63. I have no experience with this unit and what may lie ahead. I am attempting to so as much preliminary online scouting as reasonable. Currently I am planning on a solo hunt and plan to camp out where I hunt. It is about a 16 hour drive one way for me so I would like to drive day 1, hunt for 2-3 days then head home. My time is limited so I would like to make it as productive as possible.

I am trying to determine if it is better to go opening weekend or if it really matters.

Any thoughts as to when I should attempt to hunt this unit I would greatly appreciate it. Thank you,

A week or 2 into October will be a lot less pressure and still lots of animals. I've never been there opening week though.

If your goal is go have a fun trip, with no particular trophy antelope criteria in mind, no other hunters around, go mid week, the last week of Sept or the first week of Oct. The deer/elk seasons are also limited quota there, but if you wait until after the first week of October you'll have a few deer and elk hunters around also. Down side is 300-400 bucks will already be dead in your unit. Up side is, the remaining goats will likely be in bigger groups, easier to find and evaluate side by side. If you want a big trophy, I'd suggest being in Wyoming 2 full days prior to the hunt, looking. The season opens on a Saturday and it will likely be busy that weekend, but killing a big buck the first 30 minutes of shooting light is pretty easy if you are watching him Friday the 14th. The 13th and 14th will likely not be busy at all.

I've always gone the first weekend in October in 63. I haven't seen many other hunters then. I've also seen quite a few loners. I may go earlier this year so I can hunt sage grouse.