MTNTOUGH - Use promo code RANDY for 30 days free

Winter Coyote Strategies? +a bonus question

Is it skylined or skylighted? Or? I always thought it was skylined. I into the other.

• Skylighted

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Skylit

• Other

• Total voters

Hammsolo

Morning All, I spent yesterday morning chasing coyotes South of Cheney, WA. I love it. The scab lands create such an amazing terrain. To the I90 driver it appears flat but is loaded with dips, pockets, cliffs, and more everywhere. You can gain and lose 1000 feet of elevation in a day, while never getting a 100 feet higher or lower from where you started.

I am a fairly novice predator hunter, but love it. I have a couple mouth calls, a cheaper Primos Dogg Catcher e-caller, my 6.5 mb (man bun as some of you say), range finder, binos, cover scents and quality camo as my core kit.

I focus on being quiet at the truck, quiet on the walk with the wind in my face. I choose slightly elevated sets with something like a cliff covering my back. I try to sit still (which is hard), scan terrain with my eyes, and then binos. I start a calling sequence and then use my eyes more than binos while searching for movement.

I got one yearling yesterday, and heard loads of serenades during my two morning sets. It was cold with a brisk wind. The snow was crunchy.

I love how challenging it is to hunt yotes. It’s funny how I see piles while deer hunting…

So, a few questions need answering. What tips and tricks do you have for me? What wisdom? What statements? Yes, ones like you’re a dumba$$.

The bonus poll question came to me when researching coyotes and coyote hunting.