Hunt Talk Radio - Look for it on your favorite Podcast platform

Whitetail Newb, please help!

james.bailey87

I recently moved to North Carolina from Montana. I am a complete novice at stand hunting for whitetail. What should I be looking for in general? How about stand locations? Any tips or pointers would be greatly appreciated!

I recently moved to North Carolina from Montana. I am a complete novice at stand hunting for whitetail. What should I be looking for in general? How about stand locations? Any tips or pointers would be greatly appreciated!

Where about in NC? Real hard to say without scouting the land you have access to. If anyone is running dogs in the area look for the furthest area from where they could dump their dogs, legally or not.

Look for edge habit. Where secluded fields meet woods, creek or river bottoms, and in October the key is white oak acorns...
Yup edges, also look for drainages or ditches. Bucks will use them to travel and be hidden in plain sight or you can also use them to approach your stand while staying hidden.

Not sure what type of stand you will be using but make sure you have it oriented in a suitable direction for ease of shooting. Especially if bow hunting. If possible, trim some shooting lanes or clear a trail in front of the stand. It makes it 10x easier. Can’t move to get a better angle when you’re 15 foot up a tree. Plus the deer can get used to walk down the trails/shooting lanes.

Not sure what type of stand you will be using but make sure you have it oriented in a suitable direction for ease of shooting. Especially if bow hunting. If possible, trim some shooting lanes or clear a trail in front of the stand. It makes it 10x easier. Can’t move to get a better angle when you’re 15 foot up a tree. Plus the deer can get used to walk down the trails/shooting lanes.
This but also regarding wind direction. Need to learn common wind directions for the property and orient the stand in relation to them.