Caribou Gear

Where would you look?

Oakley388

Hey everyone. So I've been going out every chance I can since the general season has started. Whether before or after school or on the days off, I am doing my best to get out and try to learn something before the season ends. Honestly I am amazed how successful I am so far being as it is my first time ever hunting out west. I haven't harvested anything but I've seen deer or elk, and sometimes both at least once each trip. Almost every encounter has been cows and does which are a no go in the district I am in. Regardless, I scouted and continue looking for places where the animals would be and I am doing pretty good at it.

I did have an awesome encounter with what I think was the same whitetail buck twice so far. Both times I think we surprised each other and the second time I think I may have blown it for good. He got a good look at me and let the whole surrounding area know I was there as he bounded away. I took it as a lesson learned that when I think I'm quiet enough, I should probably be just a little bit more quiet.

That's been when I'm hunting down lower and near water. I've also been splitting my time working at higher elevations in the same district. I've been hiking high and fairly long distances on those days, doing my best to get away from any roads and where I think the majority of people are hanging out. It's definitely a heavily hunted unit from the traffic I have seen but I haven't actually seen a person in the creek bottoms or on the mountains yet. I like the seclusion and my guess is the animals like it too.