What size holes in your grinding plate you use?

schmalts

Been grinding my own for ages. This year I was given a tube of elk to take home and it was the course grind and the fam seemed to like it. I was on the fence because the fat they added was also in as big as pea sized chunks but in the end it seemed like the hamburgers stuck together fine. I also know if I used the bigger holes plate the grinding will take way less time. I always use the fine on my smoked meat products but and considering a change to the burger. What you use for your burger?

Largest/coarsest for anything that isn't summer sausage, but I'm no butchery expert. I don't add additional fat to regular ground meat.

I’ve been doing coarse plate twice with pork fat. It’s always been perfect for burger. I only use fine if I’m stuffing snack sticks or sausages

For basic grinding i use exclusively the 3/8".
Clean meat goes through once, mix in some ground up additive and run it through again, then a third time to stuff patty bags. A meat mixer would eliminate that second grind im guessing.
I would agree, the coarser texture holds together better.

Been grinding my own for ages. This year I was given a tube of elk to take home and it was the course grind and the fam seemed to like it. I was on the fence because the fat they added was also in as big as pea sized chunks but in the end it seemed like the hamburgers stuck together fine. I also know if I used the bigger holes plate the grinding will take way less time. I always use the fine on my smoked meat products but and considering a change to the burger. What you use for your burger?

For burgers we do coarse grind, run through 2x

I usually run all grind twice using the bigger course plate, any stuffed sauage or hamber patties get fine on second run. I also run a blade infront of stuffing plate and run small good trimmed cuts thru to make real chunky grind perfect for steak sandwiches...

C