Caribou Gear

Total Beginner

Ben_BlueOx

Hi,

Hope you are all well. I’m 34, originally from England, where I grew up fly fishing trout with my dad. I never appreciated those times as much as I should have, and now I’m older, married, with two kids and sharing a different perspective I’m looking to get outdoors more and share some amazing adventures.

I now live in Illinois, but totally new to the hunting world. Right now I have never even held a gun. We have to start somewhere, right, so I have applied for my F.O.I.D card. I’m interested in bow & riffle. My long term goal is to hunt Elk, White tail deer, bison. My goal is for any kill to put food on the table.

I have so many questions. I look forward to reading through the different threads and getting a base knowledge.

if anybody here is also patient enough to educate a total beginner please let me know.

thanks again. I look forward to being part of the community.

Welcome Ben! You make it back to the UK much? I usually have to go 1-2 twice a year to our office in Knaresborough- North of Leeds-- I am meaning to try to find a fly fishing guide the next time I have more time out there!
You are in a great deer state. Some great resources here, I would also suggest listening to Randy's Podcast-- Hunt Talk Radio along with his shows on YouTube if you have not already!

Welcome! Ask away with any questions you have, no matter how simple they might seem. You’ll find many people here willing to help.

Welcome! Ask away with any questions you have, no matter how simple they might seem. You’ll find many people here willing to help.

thanks for that. I might put a list of opening questions in a DM to you if you are ok with that?

Welcome. Everybody starts at the beginning. Try to find someone who already is doing what you want and mentor you along the way. You can try out their guns, shoot some, get educated and handle safely.