Sitka Gear Turkey Tool Belt

Questions for Ackley & Sherman shooters

MT_Chad

Hey all, some of you saw in my other thread I recently ordered a 6mm Rem Ackley Improved barrel. I have been loading for my old man's 257 Ackley for a few years, but this is the first for me. I have a few questions for the guys with more experience with these blown out case cartridges.

Hydraulic form dies- Has anybody invested in one? I'm considering one to conserve reloading components. I have seen the Whidden and Hornady form dies. I have been on the lookout for an old cast iron single stage press I could get for cheap to stick out in the garage for hydraulic sizing instead of abusing my good press (and keeping it from rusting) in my reloading room.

Case annealing- I know annealing garners the level of fighting on other forums that the APR does on Hunt Talk, but do any of you that load for these rounds anneal and what has been the result? I have seen a few on here that do, but would like more feedback. If I do start annealing, I will invest in a machine, likely the Ugly Annealer, to get the job done. I'm mostly concerned about the work hardening of blowing the case out, so my thought was that annealing after the case forming would likely increase the case life.

What say the hunt talk crew?

Hey all, some of you saw in my other thread I recently ordered a 6mm Rem Ackley Improved barrel. I have been loading for my old man's 257 Ackley for a few years, but this is the first for me. I have a few questions for the guys with more experience with these blown out case cartridges.

Hydraulic form dies- Has anybody invested in one? I'm considering one to conserve reloading components. I have seen the Whidden and Hornady form dies. I have been on the lookout for an old cast iron single stage press I could get for cheap to stick out in the garage for hydraulic sizing instead of abusing my good press (and keeping it from rusting) in my reloading room.